Skip to main content

Leeds Doctoral College Showcase 2016

Monday 5 December 2016

The Leeds Doctoral College Showcase 2016 took place at the 7th annual University of Leeds Postgraduate Research Conference on Monday December 5th 2016.  It had four competitions: Research poster and research image displays were in Parkinson Court and the Postgraduate Researcher of the Year and Three Minute Thesis presentations were in the Great Hall, Baines Wing.

Please visit for more information on the Leeds Doctoral College. 3 minute thesis presentations are available to view on the conference’s YouTube channel:


University of Leeds Postgraduate Researcher of the Year 2016

Winner: Jane Blackwell – ‘The Paediatric Narcolepsy Project’ (Medicine and Health)
2nd: Devesh Mistry – ‘Novel liquid crystal optical devices for the ageing eye’ (Mathematics and Physical Sciences)
3rd: Andrew Moore – ‘Touching Documentaries’ (Arts Humanities and Cultures)

Three Minute Thesis

Winner: Marta Giannichi – ‘Merchantable Forest: solution or conservation fallacy?’ (Environment)
2nd: Michellie Young – ‘Scratching the surface of contagious itch’ (Medicine and Health)
3rd: Awarded as a joint prize, to:
Adam Churchman ‘Oil layer inside microbubbles: a novel production method, towards hydrophobic drug delivery’ (Mathematics and Physical Sciences)
Sanah Mehnaz ‘The honour of Muslim women’ (Arts)

Research Poster

Winner: Poojah Shah – ‘Angiogenesis – a Potential Treatment for Ischaemic Heart Disease?’ (Medicine and Health)
2nd: Maria Hayley – ‘Reconstructing revenge: Thyestes tragedies before Seneca (Classics)
3rd: Faye Bennett – ‘Forget me not: do medical students want to know more about the lives of body donors? A pilot study’ (Medicine and Health)

Highly commended:
Stephen Parirenyatwa (Chemical and Process Engineering); Lidia Escudero Castejon (Chemical and Process Engineering) and Diletta Colette Invernizzi (Civil Engineering)

People’s choice award: Polly Galis – ‘French feminist erotica’ (Languages, Cultures and Societies)

Postgraduate Research Image of the Year

Winning Image: Emily James, ‘Water Faberge’ (School of Chemical & Process Engineering, Faculty of Engineering)

2nd image: Ben Vincent, ‘Ash’s map of their non-binary body’ (School of Sociology & Social Policy, Faculty of Education, Social Sciences and Law)


View for other archived showcase events